HMI Basic Mountaineering Course Part-1

Have waited for 3-years to get a chance to enroll for Basic Mountaineering Course and now finally I decided to chase my dream. I am truly inspired by Tenzing Norgay and Sir.Edmund Hillary for making  World’s First Mt. Everest summit in 1953. I am a big follower of Tenzing for Mountaineering and also he was First Director of Field Training of the Himalayan Mountaineering Institute(HMI) in Darjeeling. And now that I know that, even Bear Grylls had taken Mountaineering training from HMI, and this attracts me even more to pursue this course, as I am a big follower of him.  I have also heard about rugged training which happens here and which I desire 😀 Finally I decided for enrolling and started contacting HMI office 16-months before the batch which i wanted as there are very limited numbers of civilians and most are from defence and I didn’t wanted to miss this opportunity. Had taken my Medical Check-up and filled my application and posted them my application along with course fees Demand draft on 08/01/2015. They confirmed my application within 2-days of my post delivery they have emailed me the approval. BOOOMMM…. this was an entry towards my dream 🙂

fatguy-slipandslide

I was allocated HMI BMC 313 April 2016 Batch which i requested. Now only worried about leaves from Office 😛 Ahh… We can deal with it later. Getting confirmation, i have started preparation and planning for this course. I have already started a healthy diet plan and physical fitness i need to work on. Yaa I do lot of trekking in Sahyadris but i have a mental fear about rock climbing, there are lot of things need to work on and get prepared for the course. Also need to plan following few aspects from now :

  • Things to take along
  • Traveling to and fro
  • Physical fitness
  • Knowledge library

In the meantime, met with some folks who were also a part of this course, we quickly connected on Facebook and WhatsApp and started collecting and sharing information and preparations details.

Physical standards required to survive in the course with ease:

  1. Minimum 1-hour of running or min 10K run with good pace(helps for trekking)
  2. Upper body and lower body including back exercise(very helpful in climbing)

Learn knots and coiling:

Guideman Knot, Middleman knot, Bowline, Single Fisherman knot, Reef knot, Single/double sheet bend, Figure of eight, Clove hitch, Single/continental  rope coiling, Double/universal rope coiling

Things I brought with me:

HMI things to bring

HMI things to bring

Feb 2016, finally my manager approves leaves for this 1 month adventure and now I do have all items with me which are required.

On 3rd April 2016, I started my journey as my reporting day was on same day. Flew Mumbai-Delhi-Bagdogra. From Siliguri traveled to Darjeeling and reached HMI @8pm with Jeevan who was also in same course. We had dinner and some personal things like bedsheets, cup, spoon, bedsheet, blanket were allocated.

Watch the Video HMI BMC series part-1 : on my journey to reach HMI

 

Lemme introduce you quickly things around:

  • Groups are allocated based on regions and specialization which are called as Ropes.
  • ‘FALL IN’ means leave everything and assemble into your Ropes

In my course, we were total 87. Majority crowd was from local and from Maharashtra 😀  Sir.Lakpa Sherpa is our course director and all instructor are very well qualified in mountaineering.

 

HMI hostel

HMI hostel

HMI Quadruple fall in area

HMI Quadruple fall in area

Room mates Room No.2

Room mates Room No.2

Breakfast

Breakfast

Lunch or Dinner

Lunch or Dinner

Yoga class

Yoga class

Fall in at Quadraple

Fall in at Quadraple

Dinning Hall

Dinning Hall

Lectures

Lectures

Movie Hall or Lectures

Movie Hall or Lectures

Movie Hall or Lectures

Movie Hall or Lectures

lakpa sir hmi course director

lakpa sir hmi course director

And goes our Training schedule

HMI BMC Training schedule

HMI BMC Training schedule

HMI BMC Training schedule

HMI BMC Training schedule

Further course experience i will share in another parts.

10 responses to “HMI Basic Mountaineering Course Part-1

  1. I want to know certain things regarding himalayan mountaineering institute course, bcaz I m planning to attend basic course..

  2. Hi. I am going for BMC in HMI (april batch). Can you suggest me some physical fitness excercise as currently i’m only doing running and trekking in areas around Mumbai.

  3. Amazing accounts of the trek! I have added a link to the travel section of your blog in ‘Useful links’ post on my blog so that more trekkers can read your adventures!
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

